What’s the distinction between a state and a union territory?

India is among the largest international locations on the earth and the executive powers and duties of the nation are divided amongst central authorities and varied items within the type of states and union territories.

Relating to administrative divisions of the nation, after the inclusion of Jammu and Kashmir, and Ladakh there’s complete of 28 states and 9 Union Territories.

If you’re confused concerning the distinction between a state and a union territory, this text will enable you perceive the idea higher.

What’s a state?

When speaking concerning the distinction between a state and a union territory, a state is a division below Indian constituency, which has a separate authorities. States are defined as the executive unit that has its elected authorities, which has the precise to border its legal guidelines. It has its personal Legislative Meeting and the Chief Minister, for administration. The Governor acts because the consultant of the President, in states.

There’s a distribution of sovereign legislative and govt powers between the Centre and state, relating to the territory of that state.

Totally different states fluctuate in dimension, demography, historical past, dressing model, tradition, language, custom and so forth. Previous to independence, there have been two sorts of states in India, i.e. Provinces and Princely states, whereby provinces are below the management of British Authorities whereas the Princely states are dominated by the hereditary rulers.

What’s union territory?

Union Territories are dominated straight by the Central Authorities has a Lieutenant Governor as an administrator, who’s the consultant of the President of India and appointed by the Central authorities. Union Territories haven’t any illustration within the Rajya Sabha besides Delhi and Puducherry.

Union Territory is a small administrative unit that’s dominated by the Union. The Union Territories are managed and administered straight by the Central Authorities.

To sum up in easy phrases the essential distinction between state and union territory is that, a state has a separate governing physique whereas, an union territory is straight ruled by the central authorities or union authorities.

Historical past of union territories

Through the dialogue on reorganisation of states in 1956, the States Reorganisation Fee advisable creation of a unique class for these territories since they neither match the mannequin of a state nor do they comply with a uniform sample in terms of governance.

It was noticed that these economically unbalanced, financially weak, and administratively and politically unstable territories can’t survive as separate administrative items with out relying closely on the Union authorities. Contemplating all the explanations union territory was shaped.

Andaman and Nicobar island was the primary union territory of India, Chandigarh is the joint capital of Punjab and Haryana state of India.

How Delhi and Puducherry are totally different from different union territories?

In India, all of the states and three union territories, i.e. Puducherry, Delhi, and Jammu and Kashmir possess elected legislature and authorities.

There are complete 9 union territories in India, out of which 3, i.e. Jammu and Kashmir, Delhi, and Puducherry, have their elected members and the Chief Minister, as these are granted with partial statehood, by modification to the Structure.

These two possess their very own legislative meeting and govt council and function like states. The remaining union territories are managed and controlled by the Union of the nation, that’s why named as union territory.

Union territories of India

  • Andaman and Nicobar Islands
  • Dadra and Nagar Haveli
  • Chandigarh
  • Daman and Diu
  • Lakshadweep
  • Puducherry
  • Delhi
  • Ladakh
  • Jammu and Kashmir

Learn: Why is Article 15 essential for India?

Learn: J&Okay to be a union territory with legislature, Ladakh to be with out: What’s the distinction?

Supply hyperlink

Related Posts