Boxing World C’ship: Akash Sangwan wins opening bout

Indian boxer Akash Sangwan (67kg) stormed into the second spherical with a complete 5-0 conquer Turkey’s Furkan Adem in his opening bout on the AIBA males’s world championships.

Sangwan, a reigning nationwide champion, will subsequent face Germany’s Deniel Krotter, who received a first-round bye. The Indian dominated Adem in a lop-sided contest held late final night time.

Earlier, one other debutant Rohit Mor (57kg) gave India a successful begin by crusing previous Ecuador’s Jean Caicedo 5-0 in a assured opening-round efficiency this night. Subsequent up for him is Bosnia and Herzegovina’s Alen Rahimic.

Asian champion Sanjeet (92kg) obtained a first-round bye, together with Sachin Kumar (80kg).

Whereas Sachin will face American Robby Gonzalez within the second spherical on October 30, Sanjeet might be up in opposition to Russian Andre Stotskii in his opening bout on October 29.

With greater than 600 boxers from over 100 international locations in fray, plenty of rivals must win not less than three bouts in some classes to get to the quarterfinal stage.

5-time Asian medallist Shiva Thapa (63.5kg) is one such boxer.

Thapa, who received a bronze on the world showpiece in 2015, will open his marketing campaign in opposition to Kenya’s Victor Odhiambo Nyadera later within the day.

Asian silver-medallist Deepak Kumar (51kg), who impressed final 12 months together with his giant-slaying performances en path to a silver on the prestigious Strandja memorial match, will sq. off in opposition to Kyrgyzstan’s Azat Usenaliev.

Sumit (75kg) will be part of Thapa and Deepak in competing on the day when he takes the ring in opposition to Jamaica’s Damon O’Neill.

Additionally in motion can be Narender (+92kg), squaring off in opposition to Poland’s Oskar Safaryan.

The gold-winners on the showpiece will stroll away with a prize cash of USD 100,000.

The silver medallists are to be given USD 50,000, and each bronze-medallists might be awarded USD 25,000 every. The whole prize purse stands at a whopping USD 2.6 million.

Supply hyperlink

Related Posts